medium.com | my first $$$ from medium.com

Allan
3 min readNov 11, 2021
*not representative of actual earnings from Medium (yet!)

About a year ago now, I discovered Medium and fell in love with the breadth and depth of available knowledge. Admittedly, there is also some crud on the platform — but generally most things I choose to read I enjoy.

Initially, I had no intention of contributing as a Medium writer, despite a lifelong on/off relationship with all varieties of writing.

Article Numbers 1 & 2

This changed a few months in. I began writing an internal training course on The Basics of Selling and Negotiation for my team of sales people at the software firm I worked at. Surely it wouldn’t hurt to ‘white-label’ a couple of the modules and publish them as Stories on Medium…

Hmm. Sad times. Both attempts produced mediocre results. Zero reads and hardy even any views. How come? Was the content unsuitable for this tech-savvy audience? Was my writing that bad?

Article Number 3

Undeterred, I tried again in an effort to answer some of those questions. I’d recently purchased a reMarkable 2 writing tablet and was overjoyed with my transition to paperless note-taking. I wanted to tell the world, so I jotted my review into a Medium Story.

Thankfully, this one elicited better results. 18 views. Heady. 14 reads. Awesome. 78% read rate…

--

--

Allan

thirty-something | professional | software | sales | conservative | wales | countryside | travel | technology | cybersecurity